An Honest Blessing in Indiana

Last weekend I was playing golf with my son Chris at a beautiful Par 3 golf course that we love to play.  It was just meant to be a quick nine holes and then on home.  In the middle of our game a man came walking toward us and Chris and I kind of looked at each other as if to say “I wonder what this is about?”  It turned out to be the golf course owner.  After some small talk he asked if I was still involved with the Angel Food Ministries.  I said I was and he proceeded to take a check from his pocket.  He said, “This isn’t much, but I want to bless some people with food during the holiday season”.  He then handed me a $200 check!

Now here is what Chris and I believe opened the door for this:  Two weeks before this we went out to play, but the clubhouse was closed.  The owners saw us and pulled up in his car and said, “Just pay the next time you come in.”  A week later we went in to play again and when we paid Chris said, “Here is the money we owe you from last week when we played.”  The owner smiled and received our payment. We believe he was waiting to see if we would honor our word or try to let it slide.

We believe that our honest Christian lifestyle opened the door for a blessing! 
 
“But that (seed sown) on the good ground are they, which in an honest and good heart, having heard the word, keep it, and bring forth fruit with patience.”-Luke 8:15 (KJV)  We give God all the glory!!

Pastor Guinn from Indiana

Leave a Reply

